Atelier Vera Vermeersch.

06/03/2012

Today I went to a carpet-atelier from Vera Vermeersch. Already for 4 years long I was hoping that I could have a look inside Veras atelier. Today I finally went for a visit.

Vera showed me how she work, and it’s like magic. First she make a drawing on a strong piece of fabric, then she mix yarns to find the right colours, … . Mostly she makes little samples first, to make sure that the colours are good, and the pile is high enough. And after all these preparations, she can start tufting. It’s a big ‘pistol’, with high presure air, and it’s like she make a drawing with yarns. I love the play between the front and the back of the carpet, the pile, the way of working.

I was so totally happy when I came inside the work-room, and it made me think “oh, this is what I want to do !”. I had the same kind of feeling when, 6 years ago, I came into the weaving atelier for the first time. So I hope that I have the chance to learn how to tuft, and maybe it will be a part of my future. I hope so.

This make me so happy. Can’t stop smiling.
lovelovelovelovelove

Let’s make carpets.

Two years ago I saw a beautiful exhibition about her work, at ‘De zwarte Panter in Antwerp.

11 Responses to “Atelier Vera Vermeersch.”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Thanks for introducing me to her work and for sharing photos! Beautiful.

  2. emmel Says:

    Ik wist niet dat dat met de hand gemaakt werd, ik bedoel met zo’n pistool. Daar ben je toch ook wel even aan bezig!!

  3. zenobie Says:

    so lovely to read about your hopes for the future Hermine. You are sure to make it happen. Interesting to think of it as drawing with yarns too, really makes me appreciate the artistry involved in making carpets.

  4. aloÿse Says:

    it’s look like an amazing moment and it’s so great that you are more than exited by that.
    I really want to learn this technique.


  5. Vol bewondering! Alweer een stukje droom dat uitkomt…

  6. Koey Says:

    Carpets making looks amazing!
    You have a beautiful dream and I wish your dream comes true:)))

  7. Studio Meez Says:

    Nooit geweten dat ze tapijten met zo’n techniek maken. Het ziet er leuk uit, met zo een pistool schieten🙂
    En wow, al die bobijnen!

  8. ohhosanna Says:

    that looks like so much fun. i love seeing something that strikes me to the core as so so so inspiring! how exciting.

  9. Abraham. Says:

    Dit riep herinneringen bij me op aan heel lang geleden, bijna 50 jaar terug in de tijd. Als ik het goed begrijp en zie, wordt hier machinaal gedaan, wat wij toen met de hand deden: wollen tapijten knopen. Je had een naald waarmee je korte stukjes woldraad door een vrij stijf “rooster” haalde zò dat het stukje wol de vorm van een U had. De ronde onderkant van de U zat dan onder dat rooster en kwam later op de grond te liggen. Onverslijtbaar en heel mooi (al was dat laatste afhankelijk v d ontwerpster). Het vorderde heel langzaam maar het was heel ontspannend om zo iedere, bijna iedere, dag een stukje te doen.
    Hierboven gaat het aanzienlijk sneller!!
    Zij maakt fraaie tapijten heb ik op haar site gezien.
    Leuke “post”, Hermine.

  10. ashley Says:

    this looks amazing!


  11. […] now on I work 1 day a week in carpet heaven. The sweet carpet-lady learns me the craft of making hand tufted rugs. I’m so happy that I […]


Geef een reactie

